Butternut Squash Soup

After a few unseasonably warm days this week, I was thrilled when the weather people told us it was only going to be in the 60’s today. We had some friends over for dinner and I had 2 butternut squash on hand. Perfect for some Autumn soup! This is a mishmash of a few different recipes and tasted great, if I do say so myself.

Butternut Squash Soup

1-2 butternut squash (about 4 lbs total weight)
3 T. butter
1 medium onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
6 C. broth (I used homemade turkey stock I had tucked away in the freezer)
3-4 t. nutmeg
2 t. kosher salt
1 C. milk

In stockpot or dutch oven, saute onions and garlic in butter until onions are clear. Meanwhile, peel, seed and dice squash. Or, do what I did, which is poke holes all over the squash and microwave for 10-15 minutes. Cut in half, scoop out seeds, and scoop the now-mushy squash into the stockpot.

Add broth, nutmeg and salt and simmer on medium for about an hour (or if you added raw squash, until the squash is soft enough to be mashed). Remove from heat and blend either in sections in a regular blender, or in the pot with an immersion blender. (I got to use my newish immersion blender!)

Prior to serving, whisk the milk into the soup. I used 1%, though I think it would have been better with whole milk.  Or even cream.  Yum!

One thought on “Butternut Squash Soup

Leave a comment