Garlicky Squash Fritters

I found this recipe at a site called Mark’s Daily Apple, which preaches a “primal” lifestyle, arguing that our ancestors only began farming grains a short time ago, evolutionarily speaking, so we should eat the way the early homo sapiens did – meat, fat, vegetables and, to a lesser extent, fruits.  Though I don’t eat this way, I find that the site has a lot of good vegetable recipes, though I tend to modify them a bit.  For example, this recipe called for the fritters to be cooked in coconut oil, whereas I used olive oil.

These are very yummy.

Garlicky Squash Fritters

1 lb. squash (I used 1 pattypan and 1 summer squash)
1 t. salt
1 egg, beaten
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 T. fresh chives, chopped fine
1/2 C. almond flour (I didn’t have any, so I used whole what flour.  And I only used 1/3 C.)
dash black pepper
1/4 C. olive oil (or vegetable oil or coconut oil)

Grate the squash through the large holes of a cheese grater and combine with the sale.  Let sit for 10-15 minutes to allow the salt to draw the moisture from the squash.  By the handful, squeeze out as much of the water from the squash and spread on a paper towel.  Use another paper towel to squeeze out as much remaining liquid as possible.  Transfer the squash back to the bowl and combine with the egg, garlic, chives, flour and pepper.  Heat the oil in a large pan until hot.  Drop 3 to 4 large spoonfuls of the squash mixture into the oil and press down gently to flatten.  Let cook for 2-3 minutes.  Flip and cook 2-3 minutes.  The fritters should be browned on each side.  Transfer to a paper towel and repeat with the remaining squash, adding more oil and adjusting the heat as needed.

Makes 8-10 fritters.

Leave a comment